Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Paypal MC Recon

tag
staifokuzed
Regular Contributor

Paypal MC Recon

HI Everyone,

I am new to Myfico and of coarse credit rebuilding.  I applied to Paypal MC today and it said processing application and had a number but I closed it to fast before reading (assuming it was a denial).  Remember all the wonderful advice on this site I set out on a recon mission.  Well after about 6 automated systems and 3 live people I arrived at a very polite representative.  I verified my identity as I thought I would.  Then it was a little strange.  He asked for my cell phone number and permission to send me a computer text message.  I agreed, he sent it , I confirmed.  That seemed strange to me.  Then he said I as approved for 1000 CL.  (awesome I only have secured credit at the moment so that is huge).  I said thank you and I think that it is over.  But it is not he states that when I receive the card to not activate it by number on card.  He said that I have to to call this special number 1-866-834-3205.  I have never done a recon before and just wondering if these are common things they do when you recon.  For those considering calling after denial it was not bad at all give it a try.

AMEX B SKY-1K AMEX PRG- NPSL USAA PLTM -6K
DISCOVER IT- 5.2K BARCLAY REWARD- 3.2K
PAYPAL REWARDS -6K VICTORIA SECRETS -1750
USAA AMEX-5.5K CITI TY PREFR 3.1K(NPSL) CHASE FREEDOM -1K
SPORTSMAN VISA- 8K AMEX ED PRFD- 8.5
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Re: Paypal MC Recon

I've heard a lot of recon stories, but never anything like that.

Congrats on the approval, from what I've heard recons dont happen very often with GE.
Message 2 of 14
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Strange, but congrats!

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013