cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Picking between Stores that offer both Credit Cards and Charge Accounts?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Picking between Stores that offer both Credit Cards and Charge Accounts?

Hello there! I have been a long-time lurker on myFICO forums for the past few years. I am a graduate student in my late twenties presently working on rebuilding my credit. I have been able to drastically improve it from TU 542 to 650. I still have about 3-4 more years till I'm done with my program and look into purchasing my first home and a new car. I am hoping that my score can get up to 770 and beyond.

I have two major credit cards with limits totaling to $10K. I also have some charge accounts with stores that I don't carry balances on (I use them solely for discounts).

I am planning on applying for another store card within the year in order to increase my credit limits. I am interested in applying for the products that Amazon offer, they have your typical store credit as well as a Mastercard. My intention would be to use the card for only purchases with Amazon. I expect people to state that it is always better to have accounts with major credit card companies rather than store cards due to their sub-prime interest rates but keep in mind, I don't plan to keep balances on these cards. Plus, I do like the idea of having a card exclusive to that store and only that store as to reduce the possibility of having a higher credit utilization.