Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planning early for 1-year credit history app round

tag
sponge_gto
New Contributor

Planning early for 1-year credit history app round

Hi everyone, first time posting after reading around the forum for some time. I'm asking for some specific advice on my planned 1-year app round.

My situation:

- I have a very short credit history coming in at 8 months despite being almost 26 y/o, as I only started grad school in the States since last fall. I am now a full-time student with $31k income and will probably stay this way for the next 4-5 years. I pay my credit cards throughout the month to keep utilization low and PIF the moment statements hit. No baddies so far. Current FICO from Discover and Barclay: 706.

- I started off with a secured Bank of America Cash Rewards, slowly picking up on pre-qualified offers from Discover and Capital One in the following months. In April I had a bit of an app spree whereby I got rejected for a Chase card mostly due to insufficient history, got the Sallie Mae on recon and got my hands on some cards through the shopping cart (no HP). (See sig.) In late May I made the mistake of applying for another Barclay card (after Sallie Mae) and met with no success. This sent me a clear message that I should stay in the garden for some time. I have no loans of any sort.

- My current card mix takes care of my daily spending (Sallie Mae) and protects me from FTF (Cap One and Discover) but I would like to acquire a few more cards when my history turns a year old. Mostly this is because I will be flying myself and the GF to Asia and Europe a couple of times next year and it would be painful to extract only 1.5% of rewards from at least $3k of airfare. Also I'd like to lock in on a 2014 MSD from Amex.