cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planning to request recon/seeking advice...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Planning to request recon/seeking advice...

I have had only one loan in my life, which is a student loan I have been making payments on (always on time) for a couple years now. I need to build credit and raise my FICO score so I can buy a home. Yesterday, I walked into my bank of 10 years (which used to be WaMu, but is now Chase) with my FICO scores (705:TU, 739:Equi). The lady who processed my request said everything looked good, but I was summarily rejected by the computer. Boo!

I am planning to call Chase underwriting to request reconsideration. I have not yet received the letter stating why I was rejected, but I imagine it is because I have only one trade line.

If anyone has any suggestions on what to say or what not to say when I call Chase, I would greatly appreciate it. I am very, very new to this credit stuff. I have been conservative my whole life, only driving/buying used cars I could afford and never wanting a credit card because I believed I shouldn't buy stuff until I could already afford it. Feel free to talk to me like a baby, because in the world of credit, that's exactly what I am!

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
creditwherecreditisdue
Senior Contributor

Re: Planning to request recon/seeking advice...

Welcome to the forums!

You are one of those folks with a thin credit file and little/no revolvimg credit experience. In that circumstance FICO scores will not reflect the results likely to be achieved when app'ing credit.

Just call Chase and answer truthfully any questions you might be asked. There is no real inside information on what to do here. Don't wait for the letter either. That could take weeks. Call them today.

When you have completed the call post back in this thread and we will try to help you from there.

Message 2 of 16
DI
Super Contributor

Call this number for Chase recon:  1-888-270-2127