Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please Explain to me Ultization and AAoA

tag
JMills
Frequent Contributor

Re: Please Explain to me Ultization and AAoA

My current utilization is 39.6, thanks. I created a formula, to keep myself to track with these figures
Starting Score: EX: 705 EQ: 711 TU: 750 01/06/2014
Current Score: EX: 673 EQ: 673 TU: 643 05/06/2020

Last App: 05/06/202020 / In the Garden Until: 12/31/2024

Desired Scores EQ 800 EX 800 TU 800

PSCEU $20,000 Navy Signature $6,600 Navy Rewards $2,500
Message 11 of 18
JMills
Frequent Contributor

32.61 I just did again, not bad!
Starting Score: EX: 705 EQ: 711 TU: 750 01/06/2014
Current Score: EX: 673 EQ: 673 TU: 643 05/06/2020

Last App: 05/06/202020 / In the Garden Until: 12/31/2024

Desired Scores EQ 800 EX 800 TU 800

PSCEU $20,000 Navy Signature $6,600 Navy Rewards $2,500
Message 12 of 18
jenn_bar
Frequent Contributor

@armbenderc wrote:

@CS800 wrote:

@JMills wrote:
I'm still learning and I'm still need some information on utilization and AAOa, is it good to have high credit limits on all your cards? If I have low limits, will that affect me in the long run, when apping for new cards? What will you suggest I do? In rebuilding stage. My longest card is 7 years, explain the whole AAoA process please, so I can do this right.

AAoA:

The average age of all your accounts as the acronym states. Take the age of all your accounts and divide them by the number of account = AAoA

The higher the AAoA, the better it is

Util:

- Take all your credit limits and add them

- Add all the credit that you are using from your cards

- Take the total amount of $$ used divide by the total credit limit X 100 gives you util %

The lower the util, the better. Generally from what I have read and understood, to keep util below 10% (YMMV)

Low limits will affect your util % if you're using a lot of the available credit limit. If you pay them in full before the statement cuts, it will not affect your util.