cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible for me to get approved? Barclay Arrival World MasterCard - Capital One Venture Rewards

tag
Temporary_me

Possible for me to get approved? Barclay Arrival World MasterCard - Capital One Venture Rewards

I'm currently in my senior year of college, 21 years old, and contemplating getting my second credit card. I'll graduate in May 2014 and I'm looking forward to being an avid traveler and wanted my next card to be an all around great rewards card for jetting across the globe. After some research I'd really love to get either the Barclay Arrival World MasterCard or the Capital One Venture Rewards Visa Signature card.

However, I'm new to the credit scene as I largely picked my first card because it was advertised as a "card for students" and gave 2% cash back on all gas purchases and I tend to drive a lot. As such, I don't know if I stand any chance at all of getting approved for either of these cards. The Venture card specifically states on Capital One's website it is intended for "excellent credit" defined as 3 years or more of credit history and a $5,000 credit limit or higher (which I do not meet).

My question to the savvy forum frequenters is whether I stand any chance of getting approved for either of these cards, and what I could do in the short term to possibly increase my odds before applying. I'd love to have either card in the next 1-2 months as I will be spending a significant amount of money on summer travel plans and would love to accumulate miles with these purchases.

My basic information:

Oldest credit history: 2 years 2 months (student loan, subsidized, $5,000, will pay off this coming summer)

*Have been an authorized user on my parents MasterCard as well for the past 3 years