Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about Authorized Users

tag
KirkL

Question about Authorized Users

Hi guys,

My mom has a BoA Visa, a credit union Visa, Citi Mastercard, AMEX (in the order of highest limit to lowest limit). I read on these forums that AMEX is better for increasing the average age of account. Honestly, I need all the help I can get. I'm a student, just starting out with my credit. I've had a Wells Fargo Visa card (unsecured) @ $300 for the past 6 months. I pay my balances off but because of the low limit, my utilization is very high (~50% easily).

1. Is there a benefit if my mom (excellent credit) adds me as an Authorized User to one of her cards? 

2. Which of the above cards is better to be added as an authorized user?

3. Do credit card companies do manual reviews when approving for new cards - then they'll be able to find out I'm an authorized user, right?

Thank you so much!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Wolf3
Senior Contributor

Re: Question about Authorized Users

@KirkL wrote:

Hi guys,

@Anonymous mom has a BoA Visa, a credit union Visa, Citi Mastercard, AMEX (in the order of highest limit to lowest limit). I read on these forums that AMEX is better for increasing the average age of account. Honestly, I need all the help I can get. I'm a student, just starting out with my credit. I've had a Wells Fargo Visa card (unsecured) @ $300 for the past 6 months. I pay my balances off but because of the low limit, my utilization is very high (~50% easily).

1. Is there a benefit if my mom (excellent credit) adds me as an Authorized User to one of her cards? 

2. Which of the above cards is better to be added as an authorized user?

3. Do credit card companies do manual reviews when approving for new cards - then they'll be able to find out I'm an authorized user, right?

Thank you so much!