New Visitor
boredone

Question about Lowes Card and building credit

I just got appoved for my first credit card today.  I decided to start with Lowes since we're remodeling and have been spending quite a bit there... and will probably be spending there the rest of my life.  The card only has a limit of $300, but it's a foot in the door.  I got the card mainly to help increase my limited credit.  I have a mortage which is six months old, all on-time payments, but that's the extent of my credit history.  I would like to take full advantage of the 5% cash back but I don't want to hurt my credit at all. 

My question is, could I make large purchases and save the 5%, pay it off immediately, and it not affect my credit negatively.  I've read that I should only use about 10% of my credit limit, so should I only spend around $30 a month?  Any tips for using the card would be appreciated since I am a complete newb to the credit world.

Established Contributor
awdsmama

Re: Question about Lowes Card and building credit

boredone wrote:

I just got appoved for my first credit card today.  I decided to start with Lowes since we're remodeling and have been spending quite a bit there... and will probably be spending there the rest of my life.  The card only has a limit of $300, but it's a foot in the door.  I got the card mainly to help increase my limited credit.  I have a mortage which is six months old, all on-time payments, but that's the extent of my credit history.  I would like to take full advantage of the 5% cash back but I don't want to hurt my credit at all. 

My question is, could I make large purchases and save the 5%, pay it off immediately, and it not affect my credit negatively.  I've read that I should only use about 10% of my credit limit, so should I only spend around $30 a month?  Any tips for using the card would be appreciated since I am a complete newb to the credit world.