cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about settlement offered from CitiCards (paid in full vs. paid as settled)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question about settlement offered from CitiCards (paid in full vs. paid as settled)

Hi there. I have a question about this specific situation.

I have a citi card credit card. I have NO LATE payments whatsoever on my credit report from any of my cards. My payment was due 10-15 days ago to this citi card, and they do not report it as late until 35 days past due, which I won't let it get to that. However, they offered me online a settlement option. I owe about 3996$ and they are offering me a settlement of about 3398 or so, just below the $600 tax rule thing. 

I was surprised that they offered me this considering I am not technically late/delinquint yet. I am using student loans to pay off some credit card debt, and I am considering this. However, it is only a savings of $600, and will this negatively effect my credit? I read on here that someone said a paid as settled is scored as a charge off, which is odd to me.  I know future lenders will see that I did not pay the full amount, but I also read that it will not affect the score once I actually pay it. I already asked them 3 times if they would list it as "paid in full" if i pay the full settlement amount, but they said they cannot falisify records.

The difference here is that the negotiation/settlement is offered directly from Citi, and not a counseling service who lets the cards go 6months late and thats where negativity comes from. Even if it never shows as late, will this be a bad thing on my credit? I am not sure what my actual score is right now, but my credit history is almost perfect, with all accounts shown as current and never late. What do you guys think? Will this hurt me at all, and if so, for how long? I am not planning on 'using' my credit until 2015 or so for a car, and a few years after that toward a house. 

Thanks!