Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question for Citi cardholders

tag
alph4
Regular Contributor

Question for Citi cardholders

I've finally settled on a card to apply for. I want to app for the Citi Forward, but don't know whether to app for the regular card or the student version.

I have:

AmEx Green - date 1986 // AU from parents

AmEx Blue Cash - opened 3/08. 3000 CL

My scores:

TU 802 // Efax 805.

No lates/no bads.

The dilemma stems from the problem that I am a student with an income of about $8000 (not including cash from parents, just taxable income)

I'm wanting to get this card to buildup my history long-term, rather than relying on the AU on my parents Amex.

Should I apply for the Citi Forward or the student edition? Is there a difference if on the regular Forward application I just put "Student" as my occupation vs the student app to begin with? Any suggestions from anyone, especially those with similar situations would be great! 

Current Cards:
American Express Blue Cash Preferred - March 2007 - CL $10,000
Citi Forward Visa Signature - September 2009 - CL $6,500
Chase Freedom - March 2011 - CL $15,000
Chase Sapphire Preferred - May 2013 - CL $12,500
Discover It - November 2013 - $5,000
Barclay Arrival - January 2014 - $10,000
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Question for Citi cardholders

The citi forward card also appears under students category. I think you should apply for the reg forward and like you said mention you are a student and have a part time job and ur income - you shudnt have a prob. I just apped for the forward and got a 7k CL - pulled experian in nj, 725 score and hhi 95k.
Message 2 of 9
creditwherecreditisdue
Senior Contributor