Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebuilding Credit and CLI's

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Rebuilding Credit and CLI's

As the title states, I am in the process of recovering from a rough 12-18 months. To give a brief introduction, I am 26 years old and a college grad with some decent student loan debt. I have one active CC with BOA (my former employer actually), an open car loan, and unfortunately a few derrog/collections on my credit report. My woes began almost two years ago, around a year after I lost my mother to lung cancer. Not only was her passing a huge emotional loss but it was a financial loss as well because she was the head of my family household. My father being on social security and forced into retirement due to his own health issues, didn't have much of a 401K or savings. What he did have was spent on medical bills for himself and putting two kids through college.

When I graduated college I got a job with BOA as a personal banker which paid an ok salary for a recent grad but nothing to write home about (35-40K). With my mother gone, my brother starting college, and my father being left with all of the living expenses; of course being a good son and a big family man I pitched in. However I made some ill-advised choices along the way and bit off more than I could chew. To make a very long story short, I ended up with two car payments I couldn't afford which eventually lead to one of them being reposessed about 6 mos ago. I also had to move out of my apartment and back in with my father to help cover his living expenses and help with putting my brother through school. During this time I did have two CC's with BOA, one being the Cash Rewards and the other the BankAmericard. Since I was an employee I had special APR's on the cards and extended intro APR's rates of 15 mos on both. I was carrying high balances on both and was late on the CR card eventually causing it to be closed. I tried to have the CR card re-opened but was told