Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent Grad Needing Advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Recent Grad Needing Advice

Hi All,

I'm a new grad who has my been in my job a couple months now. $60k salary. FICO scores: EQ 768/EX 755/TU 726

I've been an authorized user on my parents' credit cards since I was probably 16: AMEX Premier Rewards Gold, Discover, and Target. Two years ago, I opened up a credit card (with my mom also on the application since I wasn't working much during school) at our local CU. $1k CL and 8% APR. I also have around $30k in student loan accounts, which are currently deferred. The payment is irrelevant, as my parents are gracious enough to pay them for me each month once they come out of deferment.

I am looking to get a rewards/cashback credit card that I can use for daily expenses, rather than just using my debit card and getting nothing out of it. I plan to pay it back each month. I also wanted to request a CLI on that CU card, so I haven't been given one in 2 years, and my income has changed significantly. My mom's idea was to apply for a card and push a button on my credit card to request a CLI all at the same time, but the problem there is that there's no CLI button for my CU card; we would have to go in and talk to a representive.

I don't think I want a travel card at this time, as I want to start earning rewards/cashback immediately, and I don't plan to travel anywhere in the next year, unless it were a smaller trip that I don't mind using savings for (I have 2 weeks of vacation, so that's not an issue). I was considering getting the Gold or Plat AMEX Skymiles card in a year, and I could start earning it after that.

So she and I thought the best card for me right now would be the Discover IT card. Originally I was thinking USAA Visa or AMEX, but she thinks USAA doesn't normally give out very high CLs, as my sister, whom is now 29, has had a card with them since college, and they've barely raised her CL to $2.5k.