cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recent app spree: instant denial, 10 days, instant approval...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Recent app spree: instant denial, 10 days, instant approval...

So, I decided to broaden my very limited credit porfolio, and I can't say I'm not a bit surprised.

I currently only have 1 credit card (only card I've ever had) with Discover (More card with $1k limit).  I've never been late, paid in full, and had 1% util.  I applied for the Discover it card.  I know I could just PC my current More card, but I wanted a new account number anyways, and I was planning on just closing the More if approved.  I also applied for the AMEX BCE and Chase Freedom.  My short credit history is what is/will kill me, so I knew that going into this, but I still wanted those cards and didn't want to settle for lower ones.

At the time of applying, I had 1% util , no baddies, and no inquiries on any of my reports.  I'm a full-time student and have an income of about $20k a year.  EQ had me at 754 and TU at 770 (doesn't mean too much with my short history though).

Discover it - instant denial (you would think after running quite a bit through them and never being late they'd approve me, even if it was a low limit).

AMEX BCE - 7 to 10 day wait message

Chase Freedom - instant approval (surprised me actually)

My questions are this, is it worth calling Discover to see if they'd be willing to do anything, especially since I would close my existing account if they approved the new card, or is an instant denial basically the end with them?  I suppose I can still PC my existing More card, but I did want a new account without having to go the lost/stolen route (personal reasons).

The AMEX BCE I'm thinking I'll just have to wait as from what I've read, it doesn't really seem like they recon or speed the process up much if you call, but definitely correct me if I'm wrong.