Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recon and Best Buy questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Recon and Best Buy questions

My girlfriend applied and was denied for either of the best buy accounts. Anyone have luck with a recon with them?

Also and more importantly, Is there a consensus on what should be said when asking for a recon? I've never done it before.

Thanks Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
BungalowMo
Senior Contributor

Re: Recon and Best Buy questions

Who is the bank backing the card?

What's her credit look like??  What was their reason for the decline?

BK 7 discharge 06.24.2020 No Fico score at all. Smiley Sad
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

The problem is I don't know what her current credit is, she had a BK in 2007 her FICO scores last checked (Feb 09) TU 592 EX 674 EQ 636. They are backed by HSBC and I'm not sure who they pulled, they said payment history was reason for denial, with the BK her payment history has suffered.
Message 3 of 8
FicoScore626
Frequent Contributor

I'm in New Jersey and they pulled Equifax for me.
Message 4 of 8
Jazzzy
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

My girlfriend applied and was denied for either of the best buy accounts. Anyone have luck with a recon with them?

Also and more importantly, Is there a consensus on what should be said when asking for a recon? I've never done it before.

Thanks Smiley Happy

Hi Cyrion...

I don't know if there is a consensus on what should be said, but I recently had a successful recon with Discover, and I believe a combination of two factors worked for me.

First, I believed that the reason I was given for the denial was in error. Therefore, I was able to call and clarify what they were seeing on my credit report.

Second, I was nice, nice, and nice.

They agreed with me, and a denial turned into a card with a $13k+ credit limit.