Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Refinance or Balance Transfer ?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Refinance or Balance Transfer ?

I need help deciding whether i should refinance a $10,000 car loan which currently sits 6.9% for 36 months or do a balance transfer. (i am new to credit)

I am trying to build credit which i know having an installment loan on your credit report helps but i also want to try get the best deals and make the most i can. 

The options are...

1. WellsFargo - $312 fixed monthly payments - for 36 months @ 6.9%.

2. Pennsylvania State Employees Credit Union Balance Transfer - 15 months @ 2.9%.

Then it's 9.9% which i can then roll it over to Chase Slate 15 months. 0 fees. 0% APR. 

3. just go straight to Chase Slate 15 months. 0 fees. 0% APR ?

not sure. 2.99% pretty much a 3% balance transfer fee i think.

Citi Simplicity 21 months 0% APR but has a 3% balance transfer fee

vs

PSECU 2.99% APR 15 months NO BALANCE TRANSFER FEE ....

isn't both the same   ?

somebody else can do the math Smiley Happy

thanks. 

CURRENT OPTION

WellsFargo Dealer Services 6.9% APR 

$10,000  

36 monthly payments of $312

$1,232 in fees. (6.9% interest charged) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------  3 years carrying a balance (36 months total)

$1,232 total fees

OPTION 1  

BARCLAY RING 8% APR 

or NASA lifetime 8% APR

$10,000 balance transfer 

24 monthly payments of $452

$855 in fees. (8% interest charged) 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------  2 years carrying a balance (24 months total)

$855 total fees

OPTION 2

DISCOVER IT 0% intro for 12 months

or FNBO 0% Intro for 12 months 

$10,000 balance transfer

12 monthly payments of $416

$300 in fees. (3% balance transfer fee)

DISCOVER IT 0% intro for 12 months 

or FNBO 0% Intro for 12 months 

$5,008 balance transfer

$150 in fees. (3% balance transfer fee)