Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ritz Carlton / Marriott Churn

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Ritz Carlton / Marriott Churn

I'm still pretty new to this, but I was looking into both the Ritz-Carlton and Marriott Rewards Premier cards. They both have pretty good bonuses, but I still cannot decide which way to go. The Ritz card has a sign-up bonus of 70,000 RC points (which you can also use at Marriott properties), first year annual fee waived ($395), and instant Gold Elite status for a year with both brands. The Marriott Premier has a sign-up bonus of 50,000 MR points, first year annual fee waived ($85), and a free-night voucher for a Cat 1-4 hotel. In the T&C for either card it lists that the bonus is not valid if you're a current or previous cardholder of Marriott or Ritz cards. I would cancel the Ritz card without a doubt due to the annual fee. It just doesn't provide enough benefits to warrant the fee, but the 70,000 points would be nice! The Marriott card on the other hand I don't beleive I'd cancel due to the free night voucher every year on the anniversary, and it's only $85/yr. Should I apply for the Ritz card first to make sure I get the 70,000 points and then cancel? I know I probably wouldn't get the Marriott bonus after that, but atleast I would already have 70,000 points and still get the anniversary certificate. This is assuming I was even approved! Give me some ideas, guys! Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
CreditScholar
Valued Contributor

Re: Ritz Carlton / Marriott Churn

Apply for the card you really want. Both cards, especially since they're from Chase/JPM, aren't the churnable kind. If you can't see a real use for the Ritz card I'd just apply for the Marriott. Given your current CLs though you may not get approved for either. They like to see an equivalent CL on another card before they issue you one. The minimum for both cards are 5k since they're visa signatures only. YMMV though.
EX 798, EQ 789, TU 784