Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rumor: Amex to compete with CSR

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Rumor: Amex to compete with CSR

@Anonymous wrote:

Personally I'm okay with plastic since my metal CSR's already pretty scratched up on top where it's swiped. Cat Surprised

Anyway, I'm leaning towards AmEx improving Platnium rather than them making a new card. Even adopting the same earnings structure as PRG would help a lot.

Ditto. My CSR is wayyyy scratched up at this point. Looks like I've been swiping it for 2 decades not 2 months haha.

Message 41 of 115
fittiger
Frequent Contributor

In my opinion, AMEX needs to revitalize the MR programs.  For someone that doesn't live near a hub, transferring points for continental flights is reduced to Delta or JetBlue.  Delta requires me to fly 2 hours east to Atlanta even if I want to go to the west coast.  JetBlue requires me to travel 2.5 hours to their nearest serviced airport.

For international travel, some of these programs only work if I book out of a major hub, so I still have to book a flight there first.  That leaves me with Delta and their sky high rewards structure.  I just booked a RT ticket to Europe on United with 60K UR points.....they same amount Delta is requiring for one way.

On top of that, AMEX charges you to transfer points to a partner.

Then there is SPG....my favorite program.  Is this card going to go away?  Right now I get 1 SPG/3 Marriott points for every dollar spent.  However, my MR points only get 0.3 SPG points per 1 MR with a transfer.  This doesn't make any sense considering AMEX and SPG are partners.   How does 1MR/$1 not equal 1SPG/$1?