Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Secured Citibank credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Secured Citibank credit card

Hi all,

I'm new to myfico and I've been reading a lot of people's post and have learn a lot of things. Thank you!

Just want to give a few info about myself. So, a couple of months ago I decided that I want to own a home. I gave myself 4-5 years to built up my credit score, save money for down payment and etc. I checked my credit reports and I didnt find any baddies except that my credit history is so thin, I decided to open up 3 cc to start building. Since I've been banking with Citibank for years, I decided to get a secured Citibank cc. A month later I applied for unsecured Cap1 plat and a week ago I applied for Quicksilver one. 

I was hoping that when its time for my secured cc to graduate that they will upgrade it to unsecured. Today, I was told that they don't have graduation period for their secured card and if I want unsecured card that I have to apply for one. Does anyone know if this is true? If I new this I would have probably tried to get a secured BOA instead since I know that they have this option. Im still planning on keeping this cc since I already paid for the annual fee and just close the acct before the year is up unless they change their policy. 

Thanks,

Tess1

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
CH-7-Mission-Accomplished
Valued Contributor

Re: Secured Citibank credit card

My understanding is that they put your money in an 18 month CD and then will graduate at 18 months if you pay on time.  

Message 2 of 7
Dahlia77
Regular Contributor

That's the same thing they told me at my branch.  Secured CD, graduation in 18 months with stellar payment.

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Anyone know what the minimum deposit is with their secured card?

Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable