Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I Get Another Credit Card?

tag
FutureHomeBuyer12
New Visitor

Should I Get Another Credit Card?

I'm looking to build my credit score to apply for a home loan.

I've paid-off the 2 credit cards I got back in college that went delinquent (so they've been removed from my reports) and currently have a WF student loan that has less than $700 left on it (NEVER a late payment) There is nothing else on my report - no collections, other accts, etc)

To build my score I got a Mastercard 3 months ago and have never charged over 20% of the limit and have always paid it in full - which of course has helped - and I'm aware time, and continuing to do that will help, but I was wondering should I get another card to help build? Or will that just damage my credit score?

I know the credit check to apply will knock me down a few points, but I want to do the most I can to boost my score, which is currently 692.

Do I stick with the 1 card? Or get another?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
OptimalCS
Frequent Contributor

Re: Should I Get Another Credit Card?

Welcome to the forum,

It depends on how heavily you use your card.

One more wouldn't hurt if you want to decrease util.
"Wisdom is the principal thing..."
Message 2 of 6
Crossdivided
Established Contributor

Be advised, unless the charge-offs (the 2 old cards) had a prior arrangement to be removed upon payment ("pay for delete"), they will still be listed. They would have changed status to "closed" (would have been listed as "open" if there was a balance owed, even if the card itself was closed), with the annotation "paid in full after charge-off". The only fico algorithm benefit that would be realized is util, assuming the info furnisher reported balance AND original CL (ie 500 CL with a 1000 charge-off after the fees etc is read as 200% util, and is also factored into overall util).