Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply for Navy Federal CC or just wait

tag
nikkiheaven
Contributor

Should I apply for Navy Federal CC or just wait

I've been banking with NFCU for 10 years.  I'm 5 months away from paying off a 34K car loan; I have a paid off a personal loan with them about 3 years ago, and I was just approved for a personal loan about 1 month ago.  My EQ credit score is 580, that's what Navy Federal said it was when they approved me for a 5K personal loan.  My credit report includes several collections - all are reporting 0 balance except for Capital One and Macys.  I also have a judgement, and a tax lien.  The tax lien has been paid, and a withdrawal has been issued.  I'm waiting to received my withdrawal letter, and then I will fax to credit bureaus.  When I talked to the fiancial counselor at NF; I was advised that I need a credit card to help raise my score.  I did the VS shopping card trick and was approved for 350; should I pull the trigger with Navy Federal?  I have a LOW 6 figure salary.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
leegreen
Frequent Contributor

Re: Should I apply for Navy Federal CC or just wait

Yes! Apply for nRewards they will probably counter secured if you don't get it, but you probably will, do it now! Let us know.
06/26/2014 - Gardening until 7/1/15
NFCU NavCheck 15k, cashRewards VS 14k, nRewards 14k
Amex BCE 15k, CapOne Quicksilver MC 3k, USAA Platinum MC 2k, Discover It 1k
Jared 5.1K, Zales 5k, Lowe's 15k, Home Depot 5k
Message 2 of 9
credithappy
Regular Contributor

Yes, you shoild apply for the CC from Navy since you already have the car loan and the personnal loan already.  It does not hurt to try.  I would apply for the CashRewards card.  Good luck.