Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply for a prime card?

tag
SwiftTone
Valued Contributor

Should I apply for a prime card?

I've been on an app itch for the last couple weeks but I haven't actually applied for anything. I've looked at a couple "prime" cards but haven't figured which one I would apply for yet.

myfico puts my TU at 709 and EQ at 705. My utilization is at 13%, oldest account is 7 years 8 months ago(closed now), AAoA(including close accounts) is 3 years, but AAoA that are open is about 1 year 3 months. I have baddies on 5 accounts, with the latest baddie in 07/2009. Lastest open account is 11/2011 for a Chase Slate. No serious delinquincies or BKs. I have previous inquiries within the last 2 years was on 11/2011 and 02/2011. But it doesn't show up on my myfico FICO reports.  I work full time and I am also a part time student.

I have 2 Capital One cards. 1st card with a CL of $1000 and 2nd with $1250. My Chase Slate has a CL of $500. I find that CLI are getting hard, and it's not really growing the way I want it. However, I don't want to close my accounts either with concerns of my AAoA.

I basically want something like the Chase Freedom or something similar(suggestions welcome) because it pays cash back. I feel like paying a AF totaling $60 a year with Capital One, and getting nothing back in return is kind of rediculous.

Previously, when I applied for a card, I've always put $30k in income. But I was thinking today, and realized that I wasn't including my "other" income which would add up to another $20k. The "other" income would include student loans($8000) and income from my parents. Could I include these amounts on the application to make my income $50k??