Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I apply for an American Express Zync

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I apply for an American Express Zync

I just turned 18 and have a Capital One Standard Platinum ($300 limit), I have 3 inquires total. I am pretty new to credit but I heard that the Zync card was pretty easy to get. I always pay my bill off in full, so i think it would be a good option for me. Should I hold off for a while, or should I go and apply for it.

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I apply for an American Express Zync

Hello,

Do you have 6 months of credit on the Capital One card or any other tradeline? I was denied due to not having a credit score since I didnt have a tradeline open for 6 or more months.

Message 2 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

So I guess I should wait at least 6 months until applying. Thanks!

Message 3 of 16
DI
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

I just turned 18 and have a Capital One Standard Platinum ($300 limit), I have 3 inquires total. I am pretty new to credit but I heard that the Zync card was pretty easy to get. I always pay my bill off in full, so i think it would be a good option for me. Should I hold off for a while, or should I go and apply for it.

No, keep that one $300 card until you turn 21.  If you're needing more credit at 18 you're probably overspending.  Use the $300 card to pay for things like food, gas and cell bill and  PIF monthly. 

Message 4 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

I would also keep in mind that the Zync has an AF. It also only earns Membership Rewards Express points, which aren't as versatile or valuable as normal Membership Rewards points.