Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I get another card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should I get another card?

I am relatively new to credit, I got 2 cards last year in june to start building credit (secured cc's)  I was thinking of getting a third to satisfy most lenders 3 traditional tradelines aged 12mos + requirements.   I have another secured card I can get that would not require a credit check, but I am not so concerned about the inquiry effecting my credit as the avg account age considerations.  Is this a valid concern, will getting one more card with my only credit history being the 2 cards I have now being so new have a negative impact.  I know length of credit history is like 15% of fico, and new credit is like 10% of fico scoring, and the current cards would be like 13-14 months old when I apply, and if I get the new one it would be like 6 months old when I went to apply.  That would make avg account age 11.333 months instead of 14 months, but then again under payment history the whole broad category is 35% one of the attributing factors is # of accounts showing paid as agreed, so calculating how much of a factor the negative aspects and positive aspects of the new card would be, how much you guys think that would ding my fico score if I get this next one?