Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I go for a rewards card?

tag
MrPickleton
Established Member

Should I go for a rewards card?

Hello there everyone.  I got my first credit card in June with Capital One. Just the basic platinum card nothing fancy, just something to get my credit history started.  I am a college student, and I have a job.  My credit limit on my Capital One card is 750.  I also have student loans in deferrment because I am school which is approximately 15000.  My card has high utilization however, I pay in full each month.  I am working on keeping it down for a few months before I apply for another card,  My utilization should be around 20%.  I am curious should I even try for a rewards card or wait until my card ages a year.  Also I am curious to which rewards card I should use, I'm looking for something with no annual fee and think I found a couple I am interested in but I would like others experience with these cards to place some input.

Equifax Score-  678  01/16/2013  This was before my 1st Credit Card started reporting.

Transunion Score- 697 02/11/2013 This has my 1st card reporting

Amex BCE: 3000, Discover It 2500, Capital One QS1: 1750

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
MrSwiss
Valued Member

Re: Should I go for a rewards card?

Join Navy Fed if you can.. Less than stellar credit (me) because of a BK 2011.. I just got the Sig Cash rewards and a $10k limit..  Just be careful big limits can lead to big trouble.. Old age guidance for someone that did it wrong once. It's start..

Swiss.

Starting Score:EQ-642 --TU-632-- EX-?
Current Score:EQ-660 MyFico-- TU- 647 MyFico-- EX- 674 Quizzle
Goal Score:700

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge NFCU vsig $14k -- NFCU PLat MC $14k - NAVChek $7.5K -- NFCU PLAT Visa $14k -Cap1 $1.5k--AMZ $700- Lowes $500- WALMART-$400
Message 2 of 14
MrPickleton
Established Member