cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I have two American Express cards?

tag
lunacris40
New Visitor

Should I have two American Express cards?

Hey all, quick question. I'm fairly new to american express. I've had the AMEX Platinum card but I'm considering grabbing the Premier Gold Rewards Card for groceries, gas because of the 2x points it offers on those purchases. I plan to keep the Platinum for every other purchase I do throughout my days such as bills, etc.

What are you recommendations on this? Should I keep both or stick with the Premier Gold since Platinum is slowly taking away a bunch of their perks, or should I use this plan and stick to these 2 cards? My fees are waived since I am active duty military. 

I also have a Chase Sapphire that I've had since I was 18 years old and have used their travel points extensively but I use that less and less ever since I got my Platinum. I also have two silly cards that I regret ever getting, a Best Buy card that I use for my major electronic purchases every once and a while, and a Walmart card because being active duty military, usually the only place I can shop for stuff is Walmart and I enjoyed their perks while it lasted.  

Any recommendations will be appreciated. Also, what are you thoughts on having 5 credit cards? I like to have very few, however I currently have 5, with 2 being the ones I use very often. If the advice points to it, i will probably cancel one of my AMEX cards. 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
lunacris40
New Visitor

Re: Should I have two American Express cards?

To calirfy my question about multiple cards: I pay off balances every month, unless I make a small purhcase on my Walmart or Bestbuy card, which I just pay off in monthly increments while taking advantage of their no interest offers.

Is it detrimental to credit to have 5 credit cards, compared to a smaller amount, or all that matters is your usage and management of each card? 

Message 2 of 10
E150GT