Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Signing Up for a First Credit Card at 18

tag
efranklin23
Valued Contributor

Re: Signing Up for a First Credit Card at 18

@darkariel7 wrote:

Honestly I want to stay away from secured cards as much as possible just because I really dont want to pay the deposit for them. I am a student But I am still in HS for the next 4 months or so. So I am not a college Student.

You dont have too many choices in this situation, you can either

1. Wait till 21 and then apply for own credit on safe terms

2. Have your parents put you as an AU on their Credit Card Accounts

3. Wait until you get a job and then provide proof to CCC that you have a job

And to top that off, I believe you have to wait 6 months after you had your SSN to apply for credit. So I wouldn't rush the situation at the moment. Based on what I'm hearing, I would avoid credit cards at all risk considering your situation.

AMEX BCE (30K), DISCOVER IT (29.5K), NFCU CASH REWARDS (25K), BOA TRAVEL REWARDS (15K), USAA VISA (13K), CHASE SAPPHIRE RESERVE (13K), COMMENCE MASTERCARD (7.5K), CHASE FREEDOM (7K), CHASE FREEDOM (7K), TFCU CC (2.5K), TARGET REDCARD (900)
Message 21 of 32
darkariel7

I really cannot wait to 21. I am trying to get some good credit going by the end of this year. Nothing epic but something that can get me a Home loan. It does not have to have the lowest mortage but the lower the better obviously. That is my rush. That is why I have now given up on getting it with a my own income. I will have to get my dad to cosign. How are the requirements of this? How good does his score have to be? I am good with almost any cc as long as it does not have an anual fee and is not a secured CC because of the deposit.

Message 22 of 32
chwebb1
Established Contributor

@darkariel7 wrote: