cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

So I have a theory as far as CL Increases on CC's go...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

So I have a theory as far as CL Increases on CC's go...

Please note, I have no first hand experience, just a guy looking to fix  his credit and be as knowledgeable as possible. 

From people on here and people I know... I hear its a good thing to PIF you cc's. However, I didn't understand why a bank would want to increase your credit limit if they weren't making interest on their money.

I realized that just for using the card, there is a fee charged to the merchant that gets spread out through the different providers. The more you use the card, the more they make.. even if you PIF. 

So the more you use your card and show that you're paying it off like it's nothing... the more inclined the CC issuer would be to give you a CLI.

Is this how it works?

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: So I have a theory as far as CL Increases on CC's go...

yes

Message 2 of 9
MarineVietVet
Moderator Emeritus

@Anonymous wrote:

Please note, I have no first hand experience, just a guy looking to fix  his credit and be as knowledgeable as possible. 

From people on here and people I know... I hear its a good thing to PIF you cc's. However, I didn't understand why a bank would want to increase your credit limit if they weren't making interest on their money.

I realized that just for using the card, there is a fee charged to the merchant that gets spread out through the different providers. The more you use the card, the more they make.. even if you PIF. 

So the more you use your card and show that you're paying it off like it's nothing... the more inclined the CC issuer would be to give you a CLI.

Is this how it works?

I respect your opinion and your theory but I'd rather miss out on any future CLI's if it means paying the CCC's interest. I can only speak for myself though.