Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting Credit Lines

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting Credit Lines

Hello all!  

I have been repairing my credit for a few years now.  I've gone from high 500s/ low 600s to current low to mid 700s (all except EQ which is taking a lot of effort to raise - now around 698).  I started with a Cap One secured card for $500 but I no longer use it, and I have three unsecured cards: Cap One Quicksilver, $5,500, Amex Blue Cash, $5,500, and Discover It,  $5,500.  I am considering closing the secured card and applying for a new card but I want to receive a higher starting line (perhaps $10k and up)  I am hoping for a little advise.  

Thanks in advance!!

(this might belong in another section, if so my apologies)!

Message 1 of 34
33 REPLIES 33
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting Credit Lines

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello all!  

I have been repairing my credit for a few years now.  I've gone from high 500s/ low 600s to current low to mid 700s (all except EQ which is taking a lot of effort to raise - now around 698).  I started with a Cap One secured card for $500 but I no longer use it, and I have three unsecured cards: Cap One Quicksilver, $5,500, Amex Blue Cash, $5,500, and Discover It,  $5,500.  I am considering closing the secured card and applying for a new card but I want to receive a higher starting line (perhaps $10k and up)  I am hoping for a little advise.  

Thanks in advance!!

Congrats on your rebuilding success.  A lot of things factor into getting five digit approvals-scores, income, credit card company, etc...What is your current AAoA?  I would focus on building up the lines that I currently have first.  If you can get those over $10k, then it could assist in future approvals over that amount.   There is something in your current profile that isn't facilitaing the larger approvals. 

Message 2 of 34
Anonymous
Not applicable

Was just approved for a Cap1 Venture with a $15K SL. Previous high CL was $4K Cap1 QS.