Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting Credit from Scratch

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting Credit from Scratch

Hello all,

I have a few things I'm concerned about. I recently got a credit card about two weeks ago and I have no prior credit history. I am a freshman college student, I am unemployed, but I spend about $100 a month. I was approved for the Travel Rewards card from Bank of America with a $700 limit. Right now I have a $92 balance on my card and I am wondering whether I should pay it in full, pay some of it, or wait until after my May 7th closing date to pay it in full? Should there be months in the future where I do not use my credit card and only use my debit? Is using about 15% of my credit the best thing I can do? Also, this card has between a 15% and 24% APR but I have no idea how that will impact me if I pay everything off in full right after the closing date or before the closing date. I have looked through a lot of places online and I can not seem to have an idea of what to do. I do not need credit right now, I simply would like to build credit for the future when I am out of college.

Thank you for bearing with me and all of those questions. Feel free to respond to some and not necessarily all unless you can or provide some other key tips on how to build credit.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting Credit from Scratch

Hello OP.  

Yes, the best thing to do would be to pay it off after the closing date and before your due date.  That way it shows you using it responsibly on the bureaus and you dont have to pay interest on things you would normally buy with a debit card.  If you do this every month you will eventually get credit line increases and be eligible for better offers.  Use any better offer cards in the same manner. There is no reason to stop using it but keeping it between 10-20% max usage would be optimal to improve your score.  Enioy! 

Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable