cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting building credit. What card should I apply for?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Starting building credit. What card should I apply for?

I'm pretty new at building credit.

I have a Capital One Standard Platinum with a $750 CL. I've had it since July. I always pay my balance in full at the end of the month (and will always do so) and my average daily balance should be about 30 - 40 % of that amount I guess. I haven't pulled my credit report but I guess you guys must have an idea about where my score stands (low).

I'm making $56,000 and have virtually no debt (although apparently it doesn't seem to matter). I've applied for other credit card in September and got denied (Bank of America and Chase Amazon) so I'm a little careful now.

I have a Costco membership and people there tried to get me into signing up for the Amex True Earnings.. stating that I was pre approved as a Costco member (which I doubt). What do you think of that? Any other idea for a non secured credit card or charge card?

Thanks

Message Edited by xav on 10-30-2008 11:18 PM
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Established Contributor

Re: Starting building credit. What card should I apply for?

@Anonymous wrote:

1. I'm making $56,000 and have virtually no debt (although apparently it doesn't seem to matter).

2. I've applied for other credit card in September and got denied (Bank of America and Chase Amazon).

3. I have a Costco membership and people there tried to get me into signing up for the Amex True Earnings.. stating that I was pre approved as a Costco member (which I doubt). What do you think of that? Any other idea for a non secured credit card or charge card?

1. Your income matters more for determining your credit limits once you qualify for a credit card. You must however have a minimum income to qualify.  An income of $56,000 is well above the minimum income for most cards.