Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting my credit history, any advice?

tag
orestrus
Frequent Contributor

Starting my credit history, any advice?

Im new to US, and trying to establish my credit in these great country. I started with secured from BofA $2k limit, Capital 1 classic platinum $300, Cap1 journey $300, US secured $300, First National secured $300. It may seem like many, but I figured that these many cards will help me to build a solid AAoA and thick credit profile. I have a huge number of enqueries now, so my question is these- with that many cards, assuming that my util will be around 5%, will I be able to apply for some major cards in 6-8 months, or its' better to wait for a year? Also, Im still wondering if Cap1 cards, especially Journey will grow with me, or they have a cap at around 3-4k? Is it advicable to use these cards heavily to trigger CLI's or 2-3 times a week is enough? Thanks a bunch!

BofA 5k, Cap 1 Journey 300, Cap 1 QS1 300, Walmart 6k,
Amex BCE 2000, Amex PRG, Amex Delta Gold 2k, Macy's 5k, Bloomies 6k, Amazon 6k, JCP 5k Macy's Amex 1.5k,
Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Starting my credit history, any advice?

First, thank you for your compliment regarding our country, haha. 

Indeed you are correct about having multiple credit trade lines that leads to a solid good thick file. Some people will say that Cap One does grow with you, but I wouldn't request performing a CLI every week. That would be something you view as getting new credit; wait 6 months. In about 6 months, you could pretty much qualify for AMEX, BoA, Discover, etc. They like to see good utilization and no baddies for first time applicants! 

Psst! The only reason why I held off from applying for the Chase Freedom when I hit 6 months was due to so many people (even Chase) claiming they like to see one year of credit history. 

Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

JonathanV is right again!...