Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student cards?

tag
hopingsoon
Regular Contributor

Student cards?

Can the discover and citi student cards graduate (or product change) to regular cards?

Starting Score: FAKOs EQ 537 TU 497 EX 517
Current Score 7/11/13: FICOs EQ 650 TU 659 EX 655
Goal Score: 675 Who am I kidding? Goal Score: 750+ Smiley Happy

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Dreamwalker
New Contributor

Re: Student cards?

I don't about Citi cards (ThankYou points always rubbed me the wrong way), but there really isn't any advantage to a non-student Discover card. The student versions typically just lack intro APR/balance transfer offers. Background: I'm a student, got an invitation for a regular balance transfer Discover IT, accepted on recon.
Walmart Store Card: $600 & Amazon Store Card: $1200
Amazon.com Visa: $500 & Chase Freedom: $3000
US Bank REI Visa Signature: $5500
Discover It: $100

TU-654 [03/18/2014]
Message 2 of 18
sengpatt
Regular Contributor

I don't know if this is true, but people have said that there is a limit on CL growth with student cards that isn't there on regular cards.

I am curious about the Citi Forward though. Number one, since it only comes in a student version now, will current holders eventually have to give it up? Can't be in school forever, after all. Number two, can it be PC'd to other TY points-earning cards? (I think this one has already been answered somewhere, but I'm feeling a little lazy Smiley Tongue )

EX: 758 (10/12), TU: ???, EQ: ???

BankAmericard Travel Rewards // Citi Forward // Amex Blue Cash Preferred // Gap Visa
Message 3 of 18
Dreamwalker
New Contributor

Fortunately I'm not. ;p

From the thread: