Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student with 6 months...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student with 6 months...

My Disco secured just turned 6 months. Hoping to unsecure next month and see it report a higher CL and unsecured status.

Then I shall app!!!

Ex FICO 8 is at 719 although it'll probably go down per http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/General-Credit-Topics/Experian-sees-double/m-p/4830913

I do have a decent part-time income but I am a full-time student.

I have a decent part-time income. While I do really want to go to Chase (I already bank there and like the Chase Freedom and now the new Amazon.com card!) but it seems it'd be wise to wait for a year of history...

Looking at the Cap1 Journey Student with the hope of a PC to QSR. Is this more or less guaranteed if I garden or should I be weary about student products that may stick me with a low CL for life?

Any other recomendations? I looked at the WF student card but have the same concern as the Cap1. Would I have a good shot at the BofA student card? I've seen people having trouble with the Citi student card and the rewards aren't any better for me than the Disco.

Note too I had a rough start with inquiries... http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Credit-Cards/Student-with-a-thin-file/td-p/4787846 I was denied at Chase, BofA, and even Cap1 in July 2016. I wish I could get prequals but Obama signed away that one.

Also question about the Cap1 card finder. It wants your full SSN unlike Chase, BofA, etc. with last 4 only. Any reason why? Might they do an HP?

Thanks all!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Student with 6 months...

Do you have a shared/secured loan reporting? Low util?

I would consider NFCU or PenFed. You could also ask if you have any CC offers the next time you visit Chase.
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:
Do you have a shared/secured loan reporting? Low util?