Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student with no credit history

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Student with no credit history

I recently turned 18, and I am new to this whole world of credit. I have researched all over about credit cards and how to manage them. But I need some help, I am new here. I applied for a couple of student credit cards (I am a freshman in college), and got rejected, the only one I got accepted for was the capital one MTV rewards card. I have no credit history. My credit limit was 300, I started using my card as soon as I got it, however I plan to pay my balance in full every month; (I am enrolled in paperless billing). I read that I should use only under 10% of my credit line. i have a couple of questions, should I use only 10% of my credit line, and how long would it take for me to establish some credit with this card, I plan on checking my credit score every month to check if capital one is reporting my credit. Also, what is the best strategy I could go with to get my credit limit increased, and should I keep this card for as long as I can, or should I cancel it once I get a better one. Sorry for all the questionsand your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
andre181
Established Contributor

Re: Student with no credit history

You can use as much of your credit limit as you want, just make sure that you pay it down to at least 10% BEFORE the statement comes out. 

Do that and make sure you do not go above your credit limit, and you will be in good shape in about 6-12 months. Also, your Capital One account is probably a "credit steps" card, which means capital one will increase your credit limit after so many months (usually 5 or 7 months) of using the card, paying on time, and staying under your credit limit. If it is a credit steps card, you should get a letter explaining the program in the mail with a month or two of getting your card.