cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suggestions for a first credit card?

tag
JohnnyCrawl

Suggestions for a first credit card?

Hey guys, I need help on deciding on what I should get as my first credit card to improve my credit score. I would prefer a travel credit card because I would love to travel and so having a credit card where I can earn rewards or mileage to pay off those nasty airline ticket prices would be awesome. Other than that I also would like suggestions for student credit cards or regular credit cards (whichever more can get me rewards and save me money from bad annual fees and such). 

I'm a student in college and also a soldier in the National Guard. II have a credit score of 684 from using Credit Sesame. Things I know that could have established my credit score is my job as a National Guardsman, a store mall credit card I accidently signed up for, paid the balance in full and then canceled, and student loans. Other than that I don't have any cars, phones, houses, that are under my name or could affect my credit score. 

Thanks!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
killer_queen229
Established Contributor

Re: Suggestions for a first credit card?

I think you're better off getting a secured card first. I believe US Bank offers some secured travel cards. 

Message 2 of 10
Untitled
New Contributor

I was able to get the Amex Blue Sky card, with just student loan payments, so you might have a shot?

Message 3 of 10
w003ptr
Contributor

Student Discover It or Citi Dividend.

Not travel cards, but as a student with no history you might have trouble getting any travel card worth using.

Last App 12/8/13 - BoA Better Balance Rewards

Wallet: Discover IT $4500, Chase Freedom $3k, Citi Forward $3000, AmEx BCE $2k

Sock Drawer: Citi Diamond Preferred $10500, BoA BBR $7500, Citi Platinum Select $2200, AmEx Clear $2k, J.Crew $1850, US Bank Platinum $500

12/2013: TU = 763, EX = 791, EQ = ??
Message 4 of 10
killer_queen229