Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TU 760 declined by Amex???!??

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

TU 760 declined by Amex???!??

Hi, 

I was debating whether i should get a Discover More or Amex Blue Cash as my second card (First card is Citi Divident Master Card) to increase credit score. I chose Amex because it is more widely accepted world wide since I travel a lot. Currently studying aboard in Europe. I guess I made a mistake, is Amex THAT hard to get approved????

Message 1 of 30
29 REPLIES 29
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: TU 760 declined by Amex???!??

I am currently a student...is discover card a better option for me? If it is, I guess I will apply a month later...please give me some suggestion! 
Message 2 of 30
cdtotten
Established Contributor

AMEX uses their own internal formula for determining credit worthiness. It's hard to say why you were turned down with a 760. Is that a FICO score you obtained from myfico.com or transunioncs.com ? Have you ever had an account in the past with them that went derogitory? Do you have a thin credit file?

That is also one of their reasonably more difficult cards to get started with. A lot of people app for the Delta gold card (pretty easy to get) and then PC over to blue cash.

Starting Score: 627 EQ, 621 TU - 11/15/08
Current Score: 778 EQ, 781 TU, 778 EXP 07/20/12 Lender Pull
Goal Score: 800 EQ & TU

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 3 of 30
Cstl05
Contributor

sorry to hijack, but is it still possible to PC from a delta golf to blue cash?  I had called into Amex, and they said with a delta gold you can only upgrade to other delta cards..  Maybe there is a backdoor number that would be more efficient?  I also, got declined by Amex for the blue cash, but it's probably because I opened the  delta gold in nov 09.
Chase Sapphire Reserve/Chase Sapphire Preferred/Ritz Carlton/Chase Freedom/Amex Blue Cash/Discover IT/Capital One Quicksilver/Bank of America Cash Rewards/Citi Costco/Citi Double Cash/Barclay Apple Rewards