cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The Best AMEX Card for Newbies/How Long Until My Score Improves?

tag
KaizenNeko

The Best AMEX Card for Newbies/How Long Until My Score Improves?

Hi all. I'd like some advice regarding applying for an AMEX card. A little background: I'm relatively new to the US; I moved here a little over two years ago. 

My current cards are:

-Capital One Platinum ($750 limit, 1 yr old)

-Amazon Storecard ($1700 limit, 9 months old)

-Barclaycard Visa ($1300 limit, 6 months old)

My normal mode of operation is to pay my cards in full each month; after a series of unfortunate life events in January (car needed to be fixed/hospital bills/more hospital bills), I found myself owing a total of just over $2000.00.  That debt maxed out my Capital One and Barclaycard.  I was able to pay off little bits over the last three months, but it wasn't until last week that I was able to pay the remaining balances ($800 on the Barclay, $300 on the CapOne).  Because of this my current scores are: TU:630/EX:638.   Smiley Sad

I use the Capital One as my primary card; as such I currently have a balance of $200 on my Capital One and a zero balance on my other cards. 

My questions are:

1) Barring any more unforeseen life events, if I keep my cards at a low utilization (less than 25%) and continue to pay them off when due, how long will it take for my scores to go back up?

2) What sort of score do I need to apply for an AMEX, considering that my credit history is pretty new?

3) When I do apply for an AMEX, which is the better card to start out with? Is there a 'best time' to apply?  I've been tossing up between the Zync, AMEX green and the Clear. I'd eventually like to apply for the Starwood, as I travel a lot for work (15+ times a year) and I prefer to stay at Starwood properties.

Current Score:07/30/13 TU 720 EQ 735
Goal Score: 850