cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

There's a limit of one Discover card per person, apparently.

tag
NewSurrender
Contributor

There's a limit of one Discover card per person, apparently.

I needed a dining card, and decided to apply for a Discover Open Road, since it's 2% back on dining/restaurants. Application was denied, which was surprising considering I've been a Discover customer for 6+ months with perfect payment history (And have run several thousand dollars through the card too, always PIF) and because I expected to have a good enough credit score/report to get the card.

Oh well, no big deal, I got a Paypal Mastercard instead. Works out even better, considering it's a GE card. I got a letter today stating why I was denied, and this is what it says:

"Thank you for your recent Discover(R) Card application. We appreciate your interest however, because you currently have existing Discover card accounts, we are unable to open an additional account in your name."

Which is understandable, despite me reading stories of some people here having two Discovers, BUT get this.. They decided to go ahead and pull TU anyways. A little infuriating that they pulled my CR, only to see that I'm already a customer and auto deny me. Shouldn't that be done BEFORE the credit report gets pulled?

Good news is my TU FICO is 740 as opposed to the 638 FAKO that Credit Karma gives me. Bad news is I was approved for a Walmart Discover, so I didn't need to trade an inquiry for a free TU FICO.

Not sure how people have managed multiple Discover cards (Cards issued by the Discover bank directly, not cards like the Discover Walmart that is on the Discover network, but is backed by GE). My only guess is that maybe they require the card to be open a certain amount of time (i.e. a year) before you can open up a second one?

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
SpiceIslander
Frequent Contributor

Re: There's a limit of one Discover card per person, apparently.