cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tips to avoid interest on purchases made after BT!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tips to avoid interest on purchases made after BT!

This thread is about interest charged on purchases made on a 0% APR balance transfer with an existing non-promotional variable APR on purchases.

Was on the phone for 30 minutes with a Chase CSR to dispute interest fee charged on my account. I am a newbie when it comes to balance transfers and I made one to my Chase Amazon Rewards card. Little did I know there are many hidden information that an average customer would not know, but I'm here to to share my experience so you guys will avoid a interest fee that may be charged. This only applies to a balance transfer on an existing credit card with a variable APR on purchases. 

Example: Say you normally PIF for your credit card purchases before the due date to avoid interest being charged. Well hypothetically speaking, if you made purchases in the beginning of the statement cycle for the amount of $200, did a balance transfer for $2,000 in the middle of the cycle, made a payment of $500 a day after, and made purchases of $200 at the end of the cycle this is how a normal person would expect things to be broken down.

- Payment of $500 will knock out $400 worth of purchases and the remainder $100 will be allocated to the $2,000 balance transfer. No interest charged.

This is what really happens.

- The first $200 of the $500 payment will first be allocated to the $200 purchases in the beginning.

- The remaining $300 of the $500 payment will be allocated to the $2,000 balance transfer.

- Your remaining $200 in purchases will be charged interest.

This is where things get super complicated