Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To pay, or not to pay?

tag
thedaveytrain
Valued Member

To pay, or not to pay?

I'll try to make this as short as possible. I am a teacher, getting laid off in June. While I am searching for a new teaching job, there just aren't that many out there and so I am hitting dead ends. I just registered for my last semester of grad school, and in December I will have my master's degree. My degree also requires 600 hours of fieldwork, which if I am not working I can complete in the spring. Now, here's my question: When I leave my job in June, I will have approximately $30,000 saved to get me by, plus I will almost surely get unemployment of about $2000 per month. My monthly budget is $3500, and I have stripped just about everything I can out of it. My biggest chunk of debt, besides student loans, is credit cards of about $21,000. So, anyway, I am wondering if I should take about $15,000-20,000 of the savings and pay off credit cards, thus reducing my monthly outgo, which is $416 right now, just for minimums. So, if I paid off everything, my budget would drop to around $3,000, and $2,000 of that would be covered by unemployment. My only problem with this idea is that I have no way of knowing when I'll get another job, so if it lasted past the 8-10 months I'd have left to supplement with, I'd be up a creek. Suggestions?

01/25/10 - TU 709, EQ 729, EX 705
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
daytrade5
Contributor

Re: To pay, or not to pay?

First...You know this was coming..Lol. Smiley Happy, how did you manage to rack up $21,000 in credit card debt? Lol. Humor me please. Ok, on to the serious stuff. I think you should pay that credit card debt off with that $30,000 you have, but save $9000 of it for living expenses (emergency fund) just in case you don’t find a job down the road. This is all assuming you will get that $2000 a month in unemployment.

Message 2 of 7
thedaveytrain
Valued Member