Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many credit cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Too many credit cards

I'm a graduate student who shouldn't have listened to her mother when she was younger. She convinced me to open all these store credit cards and now I have way too many. I want to know if I should close these accounts, and how much it'll affect my score. I feel uncomfortable with so many floating around, especially since I don't use them. I have zero credit card debt and have never paid any bills late.

I have 5 active credit cards. 4 are store cards that I haven't used since the first time I got them. One credit card I use and will keep. I have 2 inactive credit cards, also from stores. My oldest account is from 2003, and it's a store credit card that's still active. My credit card that I actually use is from 2005, so it would become my oldest account if I were to inactivate the other one. What should I do? I've never looked at my credit report before today, so this is all new to me. Any input would be helpful.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: Too many credit cards

I would keep at least 3 cards open and make sure to keep them active by using them at least 1 every 3 months.

The 2 that are currently inactive is probably safe to close those and you probably won't really loose points because you have no debt and does not sound like you will loose to much age.

Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just to clarify- the 2 "inactive" credit cards that I alluded to earlier are actually closed accounts. I didn't realize there was a distinction. I closed those myself a year ago.

Also, with regards to the link mentioned below, I have no balance on any of my credit cards so even if I close a couple cards and my total limit goes down, my UTIL percentage (if I'm understanding this correctly) will stay at 0%

Message Edited by marylou on 02-05-2009 12:38 PM
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
Not applicable