Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too much credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Too much credit?

Hi all, curious as to if anyone has this "issue"? 

I was a college student from 05-09 which was before the law was enacted to protect <21 year olds from opening credit cards.  We got marketed heavily and the CLs seemed high and generous, especially in the 05-07 years.  

At this point, I have 5 cards with a total CL of around $65k

BoA - $30k

Chase Southwest - $20k

Virgin America - $5k

Amex Gold - $5k

Discover $5k

Should I be concerned about this?  Does anyone else have incredibly high credit limits for their age and income? 

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
DI
Super Contributor

Re: Too much credit?

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi all, curious as to if anyone has this "issue"? 

I was a college student from 05-09 which was before the law was enacted to protect <21 year olds from opening credit cards.  We got marketed heavily and the CLs seemed high and generous, especially in the 05-07 years.  

At this point, I have 5 cards with a total CL of around $65k

BoA - $30k

Chase Southwest - $20k

Virgin America - $5k

Amex Gold - $5k

Discover $5k

Should I be concerned about this?  Does anyone else have incredibly high credit limits for their age and income? 

If you're disciplined enough to not treat the cards as an extended income you're ok.  I have high available credit also.

Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the reply.  

Unfortunately, I wasn't very disciplined in college so I rang up a nice little debt but I'm still working on paying that down. 

Much better now but I understand why they gave us high limits --- more rope to hang yourself. 

Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

This is just something i heard so take it as you wish, and I'm sure someone will correct me if wrong,