Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transaction on my Venture declined

tag
black_citi
Established Contributor

Transaction on my Venture declined

So I go to the store to make some purchases with my newly 1 week old aquired Venture card. Swipped, then declined. I only had the card for a week and this is my very first time using it. I have 2 other cap one cards with them and I never had that issue, but I knew it was because the account was so new and plus I was trying to put quite a bit on there. That spooked them so the card was declined. I used my QS Visa instead.

I came home and checked my account and sure enough it said that my Venture account has been restricted and that I must call the 800 number they provided. I called and a very nice woman answered. She said they need to verify some security measures (they actually had to call me back to make sure the number I called them from was legit), and afterwards they reinstated my account. All good now. But I missed out on my mile points. I had planned on using the card today to get those miles but oh well now. 

Although it was a bit of an inconvience, I actually love this fraud protection. I am just curious as to how they determine when to decline a charge. Even though my account was new (which is what the rep told me as to why the account was restricted), I have made large purchases in the past (not often) with brand new accounts and never had this happen. I know DCU has called me AFTER I made a purchase to see if I was the one that actually authorized it but I never got declined WHILE making a purchase until now. I know it varies from one person to another. I guess if you have other accounts with them, they compare your spending habits.I might be one of the few that actually likes when a CCC sees something suspecious they take immediate action by decling transaction. 

Make More, Spend Less
Message 1 of 33
32 REPLIES 32
taxi818
Super Contributor

Re: Transaction on my Venture declined