Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Travel Credit Card

tag
Cisneros1337
Established Member

Travel Credit Card

Hey all! I have been using Myfico for my Equifax but pretty new to the forums. Currently 18 with 1 year of credit, Yes I am a Newbie. I read a lot of posts on the forum to help me understand more about credit. So far here is my lineup

BofA Secured ($300, Since 04/2013)

Kohls Charge ($500)

Capital One QuickSilverOne ($1000)(MC with $39/AF)

Capital One Journey ($500)

Amex TrueEarning($1000) (Just Opened)

Chase Freedom($4500)(Just Opened)

Macy Charge($1000)(Just Opened)

Alright so i know i shouldn't be opening Charge Card accounts, but i mainly got it for my mom. 

Ok So my question is 

At my age (18) Which travel card is best for me? I would like to travel internationally (Mainly) 

Currently in College Looking for a better job because of my low income (20K)

My APR is around 19.

I am currently Gardening until May 2015(1 year)

I PIF on all my cards.

Never carry balance (may have to do so in the future)

I was looking at AmexJetBlue mainly because of their AF of $40.

Thanks For the Help guys!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
B335is
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Travel Credit Card

I think there are better options for international travel than jetBlue card. BA Avios has a good signup offer but its issued by Chase and with the new Freedom it might be 6 months off.

With something like Barclaycard Arrival you can apply rewards as statement credit for travel related purchases. There is AF and non-AF versions of the card but I think those types of cards lack flexibility in how rewards can be redeemed.
Message 2 of 4
Cisneros1337
Established Member

Oh ok! Thanks for the reply. Ill look into BA Avios. So do you mean i need to wait until 6 months pass to apply for that? : )

Message 3 of 4
B335is
Moderator Emeritus

For a decent limit I would wait at least a few months. United Explorer is another popular one.