Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Travel/Hotel Card Guidance

tag
w003ptr
Contributor

Travel/Hotel Card Guidance

I rarely travel, but next year I'll be doing quite a bit of domestic travel and am looking into travel rewards cards now.  I am currently a student, but will have ~$20k net income starting in February 2014. 

Looking for some guidance from you all!

Edit:  Some details that I think are relevant after reading a bunch of threads on this same topic.

Domestic travel, flying coach (sometimes just driving), staying in tier 1-2 hotels like Hampton Inn (won't be staying in hotels that cost more than ~$120/night).  I'd like it to be a no AF card, or an AF card that I can downgrade before the AF is due.

I'm looking right now at Blue Sky or Hilton HHonors Amex, but I can't figure out how much each point equates to in dollar amounts.

Last App 12/8/13 - BoA Better Balance Rewards

Wallet: Discover IT $4500, Chase Freedom $3k, Citi Forward $3000, AmEx BCE $2k

Sock Drawer: Citi Diamond Preferred $10500, BoA BBR $7500, Citi Platinum Select $2200, AmEx Clear $2k, J.Crew $1850, US Bank Platinum $500

12/2013: TU = 763, EX = 791, EQ = ??
Message 1 of 25
24 REPLIES 24
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor

Re: Travel/Hotel Card Guidance

@w003ptr wrote:

I rarely travel, but next year I'll be doing quite a bit of domestic travel and am looking into travel rewards cards now.  I am currently a student, but will have ~$20k net income starting in February 2014. 

Will you get reimbursed for travel or is this personal?   Are you going to be flying mainly on one airline/staying at one hotel chain?

If you are mainly on one airline, and it's personal, getting that airline's card might save money by avoiding baggage fees, and having things like priority boarding etc

Message 2 of 25
longtime_lurker
Valued Contributor

Sidenote: Hampton Inn's are tier 7 (of 10) in Hilton Smiley Tongue (I work for a Hampton Smiley Tongue)