Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying for AMEX

tag
nvrgvupnvrsrndr
Contributor

Trying for AMEX

This is my first time registering/posting. I've been reading/monitoring the myfico forum boards for some time when searching for answers to credit related questions. I'll try to keep it concise. I want an AMEX but not just any AMEX I really want a Gold AMEX with hopes of a Platinum someday. I currently have a TU of 699 and EX of 734 but that was with CU of 35%. Not sure about EQ. I now have below 10% CU. I had high utilization at Christmas. I did pull all three credit reports recently and all three are clean with only 1 bad...a satisfied judgement for medical bills from almost two years ago paid in full as of 3/13. I have two auto loans(Chase and Wells Fargo). CC's are as follows: Walmart $800, CreditOne Visa $650, PayPal Smartconnect $2,400, Orchard Visa $300, BarclaysNFL Visa $500, Kohl's $1,000, CapOne Rewards MC $500, Target $200, CapOne Platinum MC $300, BillMeLater $800. Always pay early, never late on any accounts and always pay more than what's due. I had been very irresponsible with credit at an early age. All of those stupid mistakes are gone now and no traces are left on credit reports. Other than my car loans which show a few years of payments most of my credit is fairly new. 1 CapOne is 1.5 years, Kohls 1.5 years, SmartConnect is 1 year, Orchard 1 year and the rest are less than 6 months. All CC apps were approved but with low CL's. Kohl's started at $300 now at $1k, SmartConnect started at $800 now at $2.4k, CreditOne started at $500 now at $650 and Walmart started at 500 now at $800. 6 of these accounts were opened within the last 6 months. Well, maybe not as concise as originally intended but thought it would be better to get the facts out there if I want educated/informed advice. As an afterthought, I make about $70k a year pre-tax. Including wife's income our combined pre-tax household income is $95k. Advice/recommendations wo