Did you mean: 

Trying to get to Asia via credit card points & marriott package

tag
red259
Super Contributor

Re: Trying to get to Asia via credit card points & marriott package

@mongstradamus wrote:

@red259 wrote:

Anyone use aeroplan, united or SQ to redeem on NH. Aeroplan and SQ will take my Amex MRs and I am trying to book a one way SE Asia to NYC. I was all excited because I found availibility and was going to use virgin atlantic due to the amex transfer bonus, but I forgot that had to be a roundtrip and there was no availbility. I'm looking to avoid fuel surcharges and I am not sure which program does what. I think United would require Chase URs so I'd like to avoid going that route if possible. 

I have never tried redeeming on NH before but when i checked ealier int he year with United there wasn't much availbility for J, btw have you ever thought of using Virgin atlantic fo fly NH I heard thats a popular option it didn't quite work out for me but maybe you can look at that option as well. 

Yes I did look at virgin atlantic with NH. The problem is it has to be a roundtrip. You can not book one way and I could not get a flight out there. I also forget if the allow a layover in Tokyo or not. Right now my game plan is as follows: I booked JAL first class NYC-Tokyo. Spend 3 dyas in Tokyo then catch a J seat on JAL to Hanoi (part of same award). Then I will go wherever I end up going in SE Asia, but I think I will work my way down to Singapore.