Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USAA - 0% Transfer for 12 months

tag
texamel
Valued Member

USAA - 0% Transfer for 12 months

I've been a USAA member for 30 years and have 3 credit cards with them, MC, Visa and AMEX with limits over $10,000 on each and utilization below 10%.  My interest rates are at 13.9% and I wanted to get a lower interest rate so I called to see what they could do.  The representative told me that in order to get a lower interest rate I would have to apply for another card.  I told her I didn't want another card just a lower interest rate and she told me that was the only way to get one (which seems to be weird.  Has anyone heard of this policy?).  So, I let a couple of weeks pass by and decided to look on the website and I saw an invitation for $0% interest for 12 months.  I have a Capital One card with a balance of about $2,800 with a 18% interest that I have been paying down for the last two years so I thought I would try and see if I could get another card and just transfer the Cap 1 balance.    So I applied and was offered a card with $500 and 9.99 interest rate (my thinking was that because I had the other 3 cards the limit was low).  Well, that wasn't going to work with my plan so I called and talked to them, told them what I was trying to do and they raised my limit to $5000.  So, I've already put into the works to have the Cap 1 balance transferred.  My question is, I have a couple of store cards (too tempting when they give you discount to open - I know dumb if you can't pay them off immediately) with small balances and I was thinking was transferring those amounts to that new card which will bring the utilization on that card to about 90%.  Do you think that will hurt my fico score if I do that or is the utilization score calculated on your enitre debt vs. credit limit? 

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
teddybearkelli1
Contributor

Re: USAA - 0% Transfer for 12 months

Bump