Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USAA Visa to Mastercard Switch

tag
credit_is_crack
Valued Contributor

USAA Visa to Mastercard Switch

Has anybody recieved thier new Visa replacing a Mastercard credit card? I have a USAA Rewards Mastercard at $5,000 --- when I look online they don't have a standard visa equal, but I do see the Visa Signature version? Anybody know if the Mastercard will get replaced with a Visa Signature? Or the regular verison available, but not on their website. 

I heard USAA was upgrading all mastercards to World -- I havent heard anything other than that email in December that mastercard was going away...anybody?

UPDATE: JAN 06, 2017 - I received an email that my card is changing from the USAA Rewards Platinum Mastercard to the USAA Rewards Visa Signature. Came with an additional 10% bonus on rewards earned thru JUL 2017. Mine must be one of the last ones getting updated considering they announced these changes bank in Oct 2015 lol I thought it was taking a while

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: USAA Visa to Mastercard Switch

Yes. All USAA MCs will be switched to Visas, even debit cards. If you have a Standard MC, it will be switched to a Standard Visa. If you have a World MC, it will be switched to a Signature Visa. They said they are doing this because, Visa is no longer charging foreign transaction fees, unlike MC.
Message 2 of 9
UncleB
Credit Mentor

@Anonymous wrote:
Yes. All USAA MCs will be switched to Visas, even debit cards. If you have a Standard MC, it will be switched to a Standard Visa. If you have a World MC, it will be switched to a Signature Visa. They said they are doing this because, Visa is no longer charging foreign transaction fees, unlike MC.

+1