cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilization at 40% but I pay my balance in full.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Utilization at 40% but I pay my balance in full.

It took me 2 years, but I went from the low 500's to 695 (oh so close).  I haven't paid a single penny in finance charges for 2 years because I pay my cards down twice a month (15th and the 1st).

My credit card (HSBC Platinum) has a 3k limit, but I spend close to 5-6k a month on it (travel expenses and what not).  So I charge, pay, charge, pay.  I always have a zero balance within days of my statement posting.

So I went to go check my credit report and my credit usage is being reported as a NEGATIVE.  They're stating that I have a high utilization somewhere in the neighborhood of 40% (I have a total of 7k available credit across 4 cards).

How is that possible when I've been running a zero balance for 2 years?  Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Utilization at 40% but I pay my balance in full.

@Anonymous wrote:

How is that possible when I've been running a zero balance for 2 years?  Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here?

Thanks in advance.

Yep, HSBC reports to the CRA's at different times of the month depending on the card. I learned this yesterday. It could be you PIF before the statement cuts, the statement shows a zero balance, but they report what your balance is a week later. This is how they report my card.

Now that I know my HSBC/Orchard reports on the last day of the month, I make sure I have zero on the card the last few days so it keeps reporting a zero balance.  

Message 2 of 7
Scamp
Valued Contributor

Mochaboy wrote:

It took me 2 years, but I went from the low 500's to 695 (oh so close).  I haven't paid a single penny in finance charges for 2 years because I pay my cards down twice a month (15th and the 1st).